Home > Life > Free after five years

Free after five years

This month marks the last payment in a very large loan, taken out with thanks to the Bank of Mum and Dad. Had I not borrowed this money, I wouldn’t be getting ready to enjoy my fifth year in my Selly Oak flat, as even though I was about a year early for the first public signs of the recession, I simply could not afford the deposit.

My parents have never been rich or even that well off, but have always been incredibly good with money. As kids, my brother and I had some pretty indulgent holidays, and all because my parents worked hard; my dad especially, as he was able to take overtime. They sacrificed, scrimped and saved so that we could enjoy great holidays as a family, and one year my dad worked his nuts off so they could buy my brother a car and me a computer for Christmas.

It’s easy to blush and be embarrassed at what we were given, and the memories we’ve had, but my parents both came from poor backgrounds and worked their oft-mended socks off to give us a great life, and to support us when we needed it.

I took my parents out for dinner on Friday night as a way to say thank you, but as I’ve written before, words and gestures aren’t quite enough to show gratitude for real, true support.

So once again, thanks Mum and Dad.
x

Categories: Life
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment